TORY LEADERSHIP Tory MPs have voted in the first round of the contest


A secret ballot was held in the House of Commons, with the result given some time after 13:00 BST.

Outgoing leader Theresa May refused to say which of the 10 contenders she had voted for, telling reporters: “That’s none of your business.”

Any candidate who fails to secure at least 17 MPs’ votes will be eliminated from the contest and the results are in.  Three contenders – Mark Harper, Andrea Leadsom and Esther McVey – have been knocked out – so we are down to seven.