EU 27 MEMBER STATES – European Commision agree visa-free travel for Britons after no-deal Brexit


The European Commission said on Friday that under its proposals Britons would be exempt from visa requirements for short visits to the EU after Brexit on the condition that reciprocal arrangements were made for EU citizens travelling the other way. A short stay is defined as up to 90 days within any 180 day period.

All non-EU countries benefiting from visa-free travel have since October been subject to ETIAS (European Travel Information Authorisation System) regulation, by which travellers are pre-screened before they arrive in Europe and those deemed dangerous can be denied the right to enter. Spokeswoman Natasha Bertaud said this system would also apply to Britain once it had left the EU.